A Foxgrove Wedding, and strange reader behavior

A Foxgrove Wedding, and strange reader behavior

First of all, I love my readers, they get to do whatever they want, and I never, ever challenge or comment on reviews. Human behavior is just really funny sometimes. Currently “A Foxgrove Wedding” is #29 in Gay and Lesbian Fiction in the Amazon UK store. The PAID store, not the free one. I’m thrilled, don’t get me wrong. Absolutely tickled. And completely amused that this is a 23 page story that was available free for several days and had over a thousand downloads between the U.S. and the U.K. It’s number three in a series, it has no UK reviews, I historically review very badly in Amazon UK, and it’s a story set in England written by an American. Who’d figure?

More funny stuff. There’s a wonderful, thoughtful review of “The Price of Everything” on a blog, http://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com/2014/02/03/the-price-of-everything-by-d-c-williams/ which isn’t the funny part. The funny part is that there is also a link to it on a Christian book site, which isn’t that weird because I do touch on Christian faith in the novel, but I’m a little surprised that no-one has broken out the tar and feathers, considering a couple of the comments I’ve gotten on Amazon.

Lastly, I now have some regular readers, most of whom I figure love my books, or at least think they’re okay., along with the folks who tried one and found it not to be their cup of tea. I seem to have at least one frequent flyer who regularly two stars them, which is completely his prerogative. What I find funny is that he keeps trying them. I don’t know if they’re just enough to his taste that he thinks he might like the next one better, or he’ll read anything if he’s bored, or what. I suppose he could just be assigning random ratings, but the lag between the “want-to-read” and the rating suggests to me that he is reading them. Who knows? People are strange. It’s what makes us wonderful.

Leave a Reply

